The RSL Council, which meets five times a year, plays a pivotal role in the election of new Fellows, plans our programme of events and oversees our Schools Outreach programme, masterclasses, awards and prizes.

Our Council consists of the following positions and representatives:

Her Majesty The Queen

Marina Warner DBE FBA

Presidents Emeritus
Sir Michael Holroyd CBE C Lit FRHisS
Colin Thubron CBE

Chair of Council
Lisa Appignanesi OBE

Anne Chisholm OBE
Maureen Duffy, Benson Medallist
Maggie Gee OBE
The Hon Victoria Glendinning CBE
Sir Ronald Harwood CBE
Dame Hilary Mantel
Philip Pullman CBE
Claire Tomalin
Jenny Uglow
OBE, Benson Medallist

Bernardine Evaristo MBE, Vice Chair
Blake MorrisonVice Chair
Colin Chisholm, Treasurer
Simon Armitage CBE
Imtiaz Dharker
Sir Richard Eyre CH CBE
Lavinia Greenlaw
Abdulrazak Gurnah
Jonathan Keates FSA
Peter Kemp
Dame Hermione Lee FBA
Deborah Moggach
Michèle Roberts



Council members serve for a fixed term of five years; new members are elected by Council when members retire.