March 27, 2019

In celebration of the fifteenth year of the RSL Ondaatje Prize we are announcing a longlist, for the first time:

Rania AbouzeidNo Turning Back(Oneworld)
Sam ByersPerfidious Albion(Faber & Faber)
Edward CareyLittle (Aardvark Bureau)
Jonathan CoeMiddle England (Viking)
Aida EdemariamThe Wife’s Tale(4th Estate)
Aminatta FornaHappiness(Bloomsbury Circus)
Gaia HolmesWhere the road runs out(Comma Poetry)
Christopher HopeThe Café de Move-on Blues(Atlantic Books)
Emmanuel IdumaA Stranger’s Pose(Cassava Republic)
Alice JollyMary Ann Sate, Imbecile(Unbound))
Patrick LangleyArkady(Fitzcarraldo Editions)
Jamal MahjoubA Line in the River(Bloomsbury Publishing)
Sarah MossGhost Wall (Granta Books)
S.K. PerryLet Me Be Like Water(Melville House UK)
Donal RyanFrom a Low and Quiet Sea(Doubleday)
Heidi SopinkaThe Dictionary of Animal Languages(Scribe UK)
Guy StaggThe Crossway(Picador)
Malachy TallackThe Valley at the Centre of the World(Canongate)
Isabella TreeWilding(Picador)
Adam WeymouthKings of the Yukon (Particular Books)


Please read the press release for more information.

This year’s judges are This year’s judges are Sabrina Mahfouz, Michèle Robertsand Ian Thomson.

If you have any media enquiries, please contact Annette Brook: or call 020 7845 4680.

The shortlist will be announced at our event  ‘The Spirit of a Place’ on Tuesday 16 April. The winner will be announced on Monday 13 May.