October 21, 2019

We are delighted to announce the longlist for this year’s V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize:

  • RACHEL BOWER, ‘Holly’
  • KEN ELKES, ‘Alone, But Not Lost’
  • JON FORTGANG, ‘Drawing In The Air: The Biro Art of Spencer Williams’
  • BEDA HIGGINS, ‘A Life’
  • SUMANA KHAN, ‘The Touch’
  • NAT LUURTSEMA, ‘Howling Pack of Undesirables’
  • RACHEL MALIK, ‘Wires’
  • DIANA MCCAULAY, ‘Picking Crabs in Negril’
  • STEPHEN WALSH, ‘The Leash’

The 2019 judges are Candice Carty-Williams, Philip Hensher and Leone Ross. The winner will be announced on Monday 11 November.

Please read the press release for further information.

Related RSL Fellows

Philip Hensher 1998

Related Awards

V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize

The RSL's annual prize of £1,000, for the best unpublished short story of the year.