We are pleased to announce the longlist for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2020 for books (fiction, non-fiction and poetry) best evoking the spirit of a place.

Jay BernardSurge(Chatto & Windus)
Jane ClarkeWhen the Tree Falls(Bloodaxe Books)
Laura CummingOn Chapel Sands(Chatto & Windus)
Tishani DoshiSmall Days and Nights(Bloomsbury Circus)
Lucy EllmannDucks, Newburyport(Galley Beggar Press)
Luan GoldieNightingale Point(HQ Fiction)
Adam HigginbothamMidnight in Chernobyl(Bantam Press)
Kathleen JamieSurfacing(Sort of Books)
Robert MacfarlaneUnderland(Hamish Hamilton)
Tim Mackintosh-SmithArabs:
A 3,000-Year History of Peoples, Tribes, and Empires
(Yale University Press London)
Philip MarsdenThe Summer Isles(Granta Books)
Robert MinhinnickNia(Seren)
Anita MirThe Inside City (Unbound Digital)
Max PorterLanny(Faber & Faber)
Roger RobinsonA Portable Paradise(Peepal Tree Press)
Elif Shafak10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World(Viking)
Anna ShermanThe Bells of Old Tokyo: Travels in Japanese Time(Picador)
Jumoke VerissimoA Small Silence(Cassava Republic)


Please read the press release for more information.

This year’s judges are This year’s judges are Peter Frankopan (Chair), Pascale Petit and Evie Wyld.

If you have any media enquiries, please contact Annette Brook: annette.brook@rsliterature.org.

The shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 20 April. The winner will be announced on Monday 4 May.