Okwonga, Musa

Musa Okwonga is a writer and broadcaster. The co-host of the Stadio football podcast, he has written seven books; the first of which, A Cultured Left Foot, was nominated for the 2008 William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award. His other books include In The End, It Was All About Love, a novel set […]

Osborne, Deirdre


Australian-born Deirdre Osborne is Reader in English Literature and Drama at Goldsmiths and co-founder of the MA Black British Literature. Her career has focused upon challenging conventional narratives in research spanning late-Victorian literature to contemporary culture in Britain and Australia through examining the unequal after-effects of the British Empire and its contemporary legacies. Her non-fiction includes […]

O’Farrell, Maggie

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of the Sunday Times no. 1 bestselling memoir I Am, I Am, I Am, and eight novels: After You’d Gone, My Lover’s Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, […]

Owen, Ursula

Ursula Owen has been an influential figure in the worlds of literature and free expression for decades. She was a founder director of Virago,  revitalised Index on Censorship as Editor and Chief Executive and was the founder of Free Word, a centre for literature, literacy and free expression. Ursula is a Trustee of English Touring […]

Olusoga, David

David Olusoga is a British-Nigerian Historian, Film-maker and Presenter. He is the author of Black & British: A Forgotten History which was awarded both the Longman-History Today Trustees Award and the PEN Hessell-Tiltman Prize, The World’s War, which won First World War Book of the Year, Civilizations: Encounters and the Cult of Progress and The […]

Orbach, Susie

Susie Orbach started writing as a way of sharing what she was learning in the consulting room. A child of the political explosions of the sixties and seventies she was drawn to rethink psychoanalytic ways of understanding from a gendered and social perspective.  Writing was then part of a political project to cascade those new […]

Okojie, Irenosen

Irenosen Okojie is a Nigerian British writer. Her debut novel, Butterfly Fish, won a Betty Trask Award. Her short stories have been published internationally, including in Salt’s Best British Short Stories 2017, Kwani? and The Year’s Best Weird Fiction. She was presented by Ben Okri at the London Short Story Festival as a dynamic writing […]

Onuzo, Chibundu

Chibundu Onuzo started writing novels and short stories at the age of ten and less than a decade later became the youngest woman ever signed by Faber. Her debut novel, The Spider King’s Daughter (2012), was longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize and the Etisalat Prize, shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Commonwealth […]