RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for Non-Fiction

Three annual awards — of £10,000, £5,000 and £2,500 — are available for authors engaged on their first commissioned works of non-fiction The 2023 Awards We are now closed for applications and the winners will be announced in December. This year’s judges are Tom Burgis, Fiona St Aubyn and Leila Aboulela. History The RSL established […]

Daisy Hildyard Wins the 2023 Encore Award for ‘Emergency’

The 2023 Encore Award winner was revealed as Daisy Hildyard for Emergency (Fitzcarraldo Editions) on Thursday 15 June. This year the prize-winner was announced at a live event. Daisy Hildyard was unable to attend but was informed and accepted the award saying: ‘An award for a second attempt is a kind-hearted award and I am happy […]

The Pulse of a Perfect Heart: Three New Commissions

There! Out it boomed. First a warning, musical; then the hour, irrevocable. The leaden circles dissolved in the air. Such fools we are, she thought, crossing Victoria Street. For Heaven only knows why one loves it so, how one sees it so, making it up, building it round one, tumbling it, creating it every moment […]

Paterson Joseph Wins the 2023 RSL Christopher Bland Prize

The 2023 RSL Christopher Bland Prize winner is Paterson Joseph for The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho (Dialogue Books). Paterson Joseph said: “I am happier about receiving the Christopher Bland Prize 2023 than I could have imagined. As a fledgling actor I wanted to be respected by my peers and to be looked upon […]

Encore Award 2023 Shortlist Announced

The Encore Award gives £10,000 annually, celebrating outstanding achievements in second novels – filling a niche in the catalogue of literary prizes. This year’s judges are Maura Dooley, Daljit Nagra and Nikesh Shukla and the five shortlisted novels are:  Milk Teeth, Jessica Andrews (Hodder) Factory Girls, Michelle Gallen (John Murrays) Emergency, Daisy Hildyard (Fitzcarraldo Editions) […]

RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2023 Shortlist Revealed

The judges of this year’s Prize, Lemn Sissay (Chair), Meena Kandasamy, and Simon Savidge, have selected the following for the shortlist: Susie Alegre, Freedom to Think (Atlantic Books) Jo Browning Wroe, A Terrible Kindness (Faber & Faber) Bonnie Garmus, Lessons in Chemistry (Doubleday) Paterson Joseph, The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho (Dialogue Books) Jill Nalder, […]

Anthony Anaxagorou Wins the 2023 RSL Ondaatje Prize

The 2023 RSL Ondaatje Prize winner was revealed as Anthony Anaxagorou for Heritage Aesthetics (Granta Poetry) on Wednesday 10 May. Anthony Anaxagorou said: “Thank you so much to the judges for seeing the book, for seeing the intention, the vision of trying to bring Cyprus and the UK together. Cyprus has always been very peripheral […]

RSL Ondaatje Prize 2023 Shortlist

The 2023 RSL Ondaatje shortlist is: Anthony Anaxagorou, Heritage Aesthetics (Granta Poetry) Michelle de Kretser, Scary Monsters (Allen & Unwin) Shehan Karunatilaka, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida (Sort of Books) Zaffar Kunial, England’s Green (Faber & Faber) Priscilla Morris, Black Butterflies (Duckworth) The judges Samira Ahmed, Roger Robinson and Joelle Taylor, said, “What captivated […]

RSL Ondaatje Prize 2023 Longlist Announced

The 2023 RSL Ondaatje longlist is: Anthony Anaxagorou, Heritage Aesthetics (Granta Poetry) Seán Hewitt, All Down Darkness Wide (Vintage) Philippa Holloway, The Half-life of Snails (Parthian Books) Shehan Karunatilaka, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida (Sort of Books) Michelle de Kretser, Scary Monsters (Allen & Unwin) Zaffar Kunial, England’s Green (Faber & Faber) Darren McGarvey, […]

V. S. Pritchett Short Story Prize 2022: Shortlist Announced

The V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short stories between 2000 to 4000 words in length. The winner will receive £1,000 and their entry will be published in Prospect magazine online and the RSL Review. We’re delighted to have a shortlist of 6 phenomenal stories, picked from hundreds of entries. […]

Sign up to free events from the RSL

As part of our RSL Spring 2023 Season, we’re offering free sign ups to upcoming digital events, featuring literary icons such as Emma Warren, Kieran Yates, Juliet Jacques and Eliza Clark. 📚 Simply register at the individual event pages below, and on release day you’ll receive the event in your inbox on release day. Careers in Literature […]