RSL Christopher Bland Prize

The £10,000 Christopher Bland Prize is to encourage and celebrate older writers and will be awarded annually to a writer of fiction or non-fiction, first published at the age of 50 or over in 2018. Sir Christopher Bland’s wife Jennie, their family and many friends are launching with the RSL in his memory – to encourage older writers. Sir Christopher Bland, who died in 2017 aged 78, is best known for his leadership in broadcasting, the arts and business.  He started writing until after his retirement and his first novel Ashes in the Wind was published to critical acclaim in 2014 when he was 76, and a second, Cathar, was published in 2016. Asked once if he had any advice for his teenage self, Sir Christopher said that he would have told him “to forget all that other stuff” and become a writer not a businessman. “I took the long way round, I started the creative life at the age of 76, so it’s never too late.” Sir Christopher Bland. Please read the press release for further information.

RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2019

We are now open for submissions for the inaugural year. The Prize is open to writers aged 50 or over at the time of publication, for their first published work of fiction or non-fiction. The writer must be a citizen of, or resident in, the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland. Books may be entered only by trade publishers or agents based in the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland.

For the inaugural year the judges are:
Gillian Slovo FRSL – novelist, dramatist (Chair)
• Sanjeev Bhaskar OBE – writer, comedian, actor
• Archie Bland – journalist and son of Sir Christopher
Anne Chisholm OBE FRSL – biographer and RSL Vice President

Publishers or agents wishing to enter a book should please download the application form, which contains full eligibility criteria and submission details.

Entries should be sent to
Martha Stenhouse
RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2019
The Royal Society of Literature
Somerset House, Strand
London WC2R 1LA

The closing date for entries is Wednesday 12 December 2018.