The Encore Award

The Encore Award was first presented in 1990 to celebrate the achievement of outstanding second novels. The award fills a niche in the catalogue of literary prizes. The RSL has administrated the award since 2016.

Literary lore as well as practice tells us that second novels are ever the most daunting. They even have a syndrome named after them. That’s why I’ve always been particularly fond of the Encore Award, the brilliant prize that acknowledges the difficulties of the second novel. Lisa Appignanesi, RSL Chair.

The 2019 Encore Award

The winner of the 2019 Encore Award is Sally Rooney with Normal People (Faber & Faber). Read the press release for more information.

Other authors on the shortlist:

  • Sam Byers Perfidious Albion (Faber & Faber)
  • Kerry Hadley-Pryce Gamble (Salt Publishing)
  • Anthony Joseph Kitch (Peepal Tree Press)
  • Daniel Shand Crocodile (Sandstone Press)
  • Sam Thompson Jott (JM Originals)

The 2019 judges were RSL Fellows Edmund Gordon, Nikita Lalwani and Eley Williams.

Press enquiries should be sent to Annette Brook, Communications Manager,, 020 7845 4680.

For questions about awards and prizes, please contact Martha Stenhouse, General Manager, 020 7845 4679.

Past Awards
*Joint winners

2018*Andrew Michael Hurley
Lisa McInerney
Devil’s Day
The Blood Miracles
2017Ian McGuireThe North Water
2015Sunjeev SahotaThe Year of the Runaways
2014Neel MukherjeeThe Lives of Others
2013Evie WyldAll the Birds, Singing
2012Ned BeaumanThe Teleportation Accident
2011Joe DunthorneWild Abandon
2010Adam FouldsThe Quickening Maze
2009Julia LeighDisquiet
2007M.J. HylandCarry Me Down
2005Nadeem AslamMaps for Lost Lovers
2004Michelle de KretserThe Hamilton Case
2003Jeremy GavronThe Book of Israel
2002Ali SmithHotel World
2001Anne EnrightWhat Are You Like?
2000*John Burnside
Claire Messud
Matt Thorne
Phil Whitaker
The Mercy Boys
The Last Life
Eight Minutes Idle
1999Christina KoningUndiscovered Country
1998*Alan Warner
Timothy O’Grady
These Demented Lands
I could Read the Sky
1997David FlusfederLike Plastic
1996A.L. KennedySo I Am Glad
1995Dermot HealyA Goat’s Song
1994Amit ChaudhuriAfternoon Raag
1993Colm TóibínThe Heather Blazing
1992Iain SinclairDownriver
1991Carey HarrisonRichard’s Feet
1990*Paul Watkins
Peter Benson
Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn
A Lesser Dependency