Byatt (Dame Antonia Byatt), A.S.

A.S. Byatt (Dame Antonia Duffy)

Elected: 1983

Year of birth: 1936

Year of death: 2023

More of our Fellows

Sir Noel Malcolm

Edmund Gordon

Anne Fine

Hanif Kureishi

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.