McMillan, Andrew

Andrew McMillan

Elected: 2020

Image credit: Urszula Soltys

Andrew McMillan was born in 1988; his two poetry collections are physical and playtime, published by Jonathan Cape. Physical was the only ever poetry collection to win the Guardian First Book Award; it also won a Somerset Maugham Award, an Eric Gregory Award, a Northern Writers’ Award and the Aldeburgh First Collection Prize. It was shortlisted for numerous others including the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Costa Poetry Award. Playtime won the inaugural Polari Prize. He is Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at Manchester Metropolitan University.

More of our Fellows

Josh Cohen

Christopher Maclehose

Lisa McGee

Lee Langley

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.