Jones, Cynan

Cynan Jones

Elected: 2019

Year of birth: 1975

Image credit: Bernadine Jones

Cynan Jones was born on the west coast of Wales in 1975. He is the author of six novels, published in over 20 countries. He has been longlisted and shortlisted for numerous prizes internationally, and won the Wales Book of the Year Fiction Prize, a Betty Trask Award, the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Award, and the BBC National Short Story Award.

He has also written stories for BBC Radio, a screenplay for the hit crime drama Hinterland, and a collection of tales for children. Other writing has appeared in a variety of anthologies and newspapers, and in journals and magazines including Granta and The New Yorker.

Cynan has worked extensively with schools and writing groups, and tutored for the Arvon Foundation and Literature Wales. He is currently the RLF Writing Fellow at Aberystwyth University.

More of our Fellows

Sir David Cannadine

Lady Antonia Fraser

Fleur Adcock

Douglas Matthews

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.