Franklin, Dan

Dan Franklin

Elected: 2019

Year of birth: 1949

Dan Franklin was born in 1949. He read English and American Literature and History at UEA, graduating in 1970. His publishing career began at Peter Owen Ltd. From there he moved to the Harvill Press, then Collins, then Heinemann, where he was Editorial Director for non-fiction. He then became Publishing Director of Secker & Warburg, where he published Roddy Doyle, Bill Bryson and Louis de Bernieres. In 1993 he was appointed Publishing Director of Jonathan Cape, a position he held until January 2016, when he went part-time as Associate Publisher. He is still looking after his authors, who include Ian McEwan, Julian Barnes, Martin Amis, David Szalay, Howard Jacobson, Roddy Doyle, Helen Macdonald  and Julia Blackburn.

More of our Fellows

Michael Longley

Annalena McAfee

Bibi Bakare-Yusuf

Benjamin Myers

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.