Dennis, Ferdinand

Ferdinand Dennis

Elected: 2022

Ferdinand Dennis attended the University of Leicester and Birkbeck College, University of London. His prose fiction works are the novels The Sleepless Summer, The Last Blues Dance, and Duppy Conqueror; and a short story collection, The Black and White Museum.  His non-fiction books include Behind the Frontlines, Journey into Afro-Britain and Back to Africa, a journey. He lives in London.

More of our Fellows

Simon Sebag-Montefiore

Ved Mehta

Afua Hirsch

Nicolette Jones

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.