Riley, Gwendoline

Gwendoline Riley

Elected: 2018

Year of birth: 1979

Image credit: Adrian Lourie/Writer Pictures

Gwendoline Riley was born in London in 1979. She is the author of five novels: Cold Water (2002), Sick Notes (2004), Joshua Spassky (2007), Opposed Positions (2012), and First Love (2017). Cold Water won a Betty Trask Award; Joshua Spassky won the 2008 Somerset Maugham Award and was shortlisted for the 2007 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. First Love was shortlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Goldsmiths Prize, the Gordon Burn Prize, the International Dylan Thomas Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize.

More of our Fellows

D.J. Enright

Sean O'Brien

Nina Bawden

Reza Vishkai

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.