Garnons-Williams, Helen

Helen Garnons-Williams

Elected: 2022

Helen Garnons-Williams is Publishing Director of the Fig Tree imprint at Penguin. Over the course of her 20-year publishing career, Helen has discovered and edited a range of acclaimed, prize-winning and bestselling writers across fiction and non-fiction. Her authors include Jon McGregor, Sarah Winman, Elizabeth Day, Inua Ellams, Michael Donkor, Claire Fuller, Stephen Kelman, Gabriel Krauze, Yomi Adegoke, Elizabeth Uviebinené, Rebecca Stott, Melanie Reid and Baroness Lola Young. She was shortlisted for Editor of the Year at the British Book Awards in 2018 and has been a judge for the Fish Short story prize and the Guardian and Fourth Estate 4thWrite prize.

More of our Fellows

April De Angelis

Vivien Noakes

David Harsent

Rosalind Harvey

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.