Mort, Helen

Helen Mort

Elected: 2018

Year of birth: 1985

Helen Mort is a five-times winner of the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award, received an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors in 2007, and won the Manchester Young Poet Prize in 2008. In 2010, she became the youngest ever poet-in-residence at the Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere. She was the Derbyshire Poet Laureate from 2013 to 2015. Her collection Division Street was shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards and the T. S. Eliot Prize. Her first novel is forthcoming from Chatto & Windus.

More of our Fellows

Karl Miller

Frederic Raphael

Vesna Goldsworthy

Viscount John Julius Norwich (Viscount Norwich)

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.