Sprackland, Jean

Jean Sprackland

Elected: 2021

Jean Sprackland is a poet and writer. Her most recent book is These Silent Mansions, a meditation on the character, ecology, purpose and meaning of graveyards. She is the winner of the Costa Poetry Award in 2008, and the Portico Prize for Non-Fiction in 2012. Her books have also been shortlisted for the Forward Prize, the T.S. Eliot Prize, and the Whitbread Award. Jean is Professor of Creative Writing at Manchester Metropolitan University.

More of our Fellows

Jenny Diski

David Sutton

Marquess Henry Paget (The Marquess of Anglesey)

Kerry Hudson

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.