Copus, Julia

Julia Copus

Elected: 2018

Year of birth: 1969

Julia Copus is a poet and children’s writer. Her third collection of poetry, The World’s Two Smallest Humans, was shortlisted for both the Costa Poetry Award and the T.S. Eliot Prize. In 2010 she won the Forward Prize for best single poem. Her debut for children, Hog in the Fog, published in 2014, was praised for its ‘tongue-tingling rhyming text’. This year sees the publication of her fourth rhyming picture book, My Bed is an Air Balloon. Julia is working on a biography of Charlotte Mew, to be published by Faber in 2020.

More of our Fellows

Matthew Kneale

Elif Shafak

Michael Millgate

Humphrey Phelps

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.