O'Reilly, Kaite

Kaite O'Reilly

Elected: 2023

Kaite O’Reilly is an award winning writer and dramaturg. Prizes she has won include the Ted Hughes Award for new works in poetry, Peggy Ramsay Award, Theatre-Wales Award and Manchester Prize. She was honoured in the 2017/18 International Eliot Hayes Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dramaturgy.  A leading figure in disability arts and culture internationally, her Atypical Plays for Atypical Actors and The ‘d’ Monologues are published by Oberon/Bloomsbury. Her first feature film, The Almond and the Seahorse, featuring Rebel Wilson and Charlotte Gainsbourg, will be released in 2023.

More of our Fellows

Romalyn Ante

Simon Brett

Andrew Davies

Mark Amory

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.