Follett, Ken

Ken Follett

Elected: 2018

Year of birth: 1949

Ken Follett has written 31 books. Over 160 million copies have sold in more than 80 countries and 33 languages. His first major success came with Eye of the Needle (1978), a World War II thriller. In 1989, his novel about the building of a medieval cathedral, The Pillars of the Earth, was published. It topped bestseller lists and was turned into a major television series. Ken’s latest book, A Column of Fire, is an historical novel about spies in the reign of Queen Elizabeth I.

More of our Fellows

J.K. Rowling

George Steiner

Jon Cook

John Arden

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.