Goodings, Lennie

Lennie Goodings

Elected: 2020

Image credit: Charlie Hopkinson

Lennie Goodings is Chair of Virago Press. She has edited and published writers including Maya Angelou, Margaret Atwood, Sarah Dunant, Natasha Walter, Marilynne Robinson, Sandi Toksvig and Sarah Waters. Born in Canada, she moved to London in her early twenties and was Virago Publisher for twenty-five years; she continues to work with her authors as Chair.

She won a Nibbie: Editor of the Year (2010), a Lifetime Achievement at London’s Women of the World Festival (2018) and has written her own book, A Bite of the Apple: A Life with Writers, Books and Virago (OUP 2020).

More of our Fellows

Andrew Franklin

Christie Hickman

Elizabeth Jenkins

Blake Morrison

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.