O'Farrell, Maggie

Maggie O'Farrell

Elected: 2021

Image credit: Murdo Macleod

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of the Sunday Times no. 1 bestselling memoir I Am, I Am, I Am, and eight novels: After You’d Gone, My Lover’s Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, Instructions for a Heatwave, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, This Must Be The Place, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award, and HAMNET, which won the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction, the 2020 Waterstones Book of the Year Award, the Fiction Prize at the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Awards, and the Fiction Book of the Year at the 2021 British Book Awards. She lives in Edinburgh

More of our Fellows

Michael Rosen

Charles Osborne

Jane Dunn

David Almond

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.