Burgess, Melvin

Melvin Burgess

Elected: 2022

Melvin Burgess has been writing fiction for young people since his first book, The Cry of the Wolf, was published in 1990. His 1996 novel Junk kick-started the YA genre and was  acclaimed at home and abroad. Junk was also included in the top ten best Carnegie winners ever. He has also won the Guardian Children’s Book of the Year and the LA Times YA Book of the Year Award.


His first book for adults, Loki, is out in November 2022.


Image credit Charlotte Graham. 

More of our Fellows

Clive James

Anthony Horowitz

Susan Hill

Peter Carey

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.