Codron, Michael

Michael Codron

Elected: 2019

Year of birth: 1930

Concentrating largely on new British writers and plays, Sir Michael Codron has produced over one hundred and fifty West End plays. He has been the principal producer and usually the original and only producer of the work of a number of writers. These include Alan Ayckbourn, Alan Bennett, Michael Frayn, Simon Gray, Christopher Hampton, Frank Marcus, John Mortimer, Joe Orton, Harold Pinter and Tom Stoppard. He is administrator of the Aldwych Theatre and in 1993 was a Cameron Mackintosh Professor of Contemporary Theatre at Oxford. He is a graduate of Worcester College, Oxford, and was made an Honorary Fellow in 2012. He was appointed CBE in August 1989 and was knighted in 2014.

More of our Fellows

Simon Armitage

Jim Crace

Lola Young (Baroness of Hornsey)

Graham Swift

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.