Alderman, Naomi

Naomi Alderman

Elected: 2018

Year of birth: 1974

Naomi Alderman is a novelist, broadcaster and video-game designer. Her novels include Disobedience, The Liars’ Gospel and the bestselling The Power (2016), which won the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and was named by Barack Obama as one of his ten books of the year. Her work has been published in 23 languages. She was mentored by Margaret Atwood as part of the Rolex Arts Initiative, was one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists in 2013 and is Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. She is currently working on the television adaptation of The Power.

More of our Fellows

David Altaras

Fiona Sampson

Bevis Hillier

Jeffrey Meyers

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.