Laing, Olivia

Olivia Laing

Elected: 2019

Year of birth: 1977

Olivia Laing is the author of To the River (2011), The Trip to Echo Spring (2013), and The Lonely City (2016), which was translated into 15 languages. In 2018 she was awarded the Windham-Campbell Prize for non-fiction.

Her latest book is Crudo (2018), a real-time novel about the turbulent summer of 2017. It was shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize and the Gordon Burn Prize.

She is currently working on Funny Weather (2020), collected essays on art and politics, and Everybody, a book about bodies and freedom.

More of our Fellows

Alberto Manguel

Steve Cook

Evie Wyld

Andrew O'Hagan

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.