Prosser, Simon

Simon Prosser

Elected: 2021

Simon Prosser is Publisher of Hamish Hamilton and a publishing director of Penguin Books. Authors he has published there include Bernardine Evaristo, Ali Smith, W.G. Sebald, Robert Macfarlane, Zadie Smith, Arundhati Roy, Noam Chomsky, Susan Sontag, Deborah Levy, Marlon James, Pat Barker, Mohsin Hamid and Ta-Nehisi Coates. He co-founded the Port Eliot Festival and the literary magazine Five Dials. He is a trustee and former Chair of the Civil Liberties Trust, and a trustee of the Future Library and of The Arts Foundation. 

More of our Fellows

Robert Fraser

Andrew Franklin

Jane Draycott

Alethea Hayter

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.