Sahota, Sunjeev

Sunjeev Sahota

Elected: 2018

Year of birth: 1981

Sunjeev Sahota was born in Derbyshire in 1981. His first novel, Ours are the Streets, was published in 2011, followed by The Year of the Runaways in 2015. He has won the Encore Award, the South Bank Sky Arts Award and the European Union Prize for Literature, and has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award and the International Dylan Thomas Prize. He was one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists in 2013.

More of our Fellows

James Lasdun

Neil Gaiman

Sir V.S. Naipaul

Julian May

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.