McWatt, Tessa

Tessa McWatt

Elected: 2021

Image credit: Bill Knight

Tessa McWatt is the author of many novels and two books for young people. Her fiction has been nominated for the Governor General’s Award, the City of Toronto Book Awards, and the OCM Bocas Prize. She won the Eccles British Library Award for her book, Shame On Me: An Anatomy of Race and Belonging, which also won the 2020 Bocas Prize for Non-Fiction and was shortlisted for the Hilary Weston Prize 2020. She is also a librettist, Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia, and is on the Board of Trustees at Wasafiri.  

More of our Fellows

Stephen Romer

Nelle Andrew

Ciaran Carson

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.