Marina Warner announced as RSL President Emerita

All at the RSL are delighted to announce Marina Warner as President Emerita, joining Presidents Emeriti Michael Holroyd and Colin Thubron.

‘I was proud to become President of the RSL, though it was a shock to learn I was the first woman in the role, as women have hardly failed over the last 200 years to make their mark in the literary world. To join Michael Holroyd and Colin Thubron among Presidents Emeriti is an honour,  and I hope, like them, to continue to meet the RSL’s aims, to keep writing, to keep reading my fellow writers and to support the cause of literature  in our difficult and dangerous times.’

Marina Warner, RSL President Emerita

‘As the first woman President of the RSL in two centuries, Marina Warner led the way for those of us who will follow. A talented writer, serious intellect and important literary figure, I am delighted that she has been appointed the first President Emerita of the RSL.’

Bernardine Evaristo, RSL President

‘Marina has been a constant source of inspiration in developing new relationships for the RSL with organisations across Europe. The RSL has benefited hugely from Marina’s tenure and I look forward to working with her on new projects in the future.’

Daljit Nagra, RSL Chair

Photo courtesy of Carolina Mazzolario.

More from Awards and Prizes

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards

Companions of Literature

RSL International Writers

Become a Member

Our Members are champions of literature. Their support makes our engagement work in schools and prisons possible and they enable us to celebrate literature in all its wonderful diversity. As a thank you, we give them all the joys of a literary festival and book club rolled into one, all year round.