RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2021 – Shortlist announced

We are excited to announce the shortlist for the £10,000 RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2021 for a debut writer of fiction or non-fiction aged 50 or over. This year’s judges are Mary Beard (Chair), Monica AliGeorgia Byng and Ben Hunte. The winner will be announced on Thursday 3 June.

Rosanna Amaka The Book of Echoes (Doubleday)
Richard Atkinson Mr Atkinson’s Rum Contract (4th Estate)
Michael Cashman One of Them (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Louise Fein People Like Us (Head of Zeus)
Pete Paphides Broken Greek (Quercus Non-Fiction)
Marina Wheeler The Lost Homestead (Hodder & Stoughton)

Watch Mary Beard announce the shortlist:

For further information and press enquiries relating to the RSL Christopher Bland Prize please contact Clair Chamberlain at Bread and Butter PR
[email protected] 

More from Awards and Prizes

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards

Companions of Literature

RSL International Writers

Become a Member

Our Members are champions of literature. Their support makes our engagement work in schools and prisons possible and they enable us to celebrate literature in all its wonderful diversity. As a thank you, we give them all the joys of a literary festival and book club rolled into one, all year round.