RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2023 Shortlist Revealed

The judges of this year’s RSL Christopher Bland Prize, Lemn Sissay (Chair), Meena Kandasamy, and Simon Savidge, have selected the following for the shortlist:

Susie Alegre, Freedom to Think (Atlantic Books)

Jo Browning Wroe, A Terrible Kindness (Faber & Faber)

Bonnie Garmus, Lessons in Chemistry (Doubleday)

Paterson Joseph, The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho (Dialogue Books)

Jill Nalder, Love from the Pink Palace (Wildfire)

Devika Ponnambalam, I Am Not Your Eve (Bluemoose Books)

The winner will be announced on Thursday 8 June.

Now in its fifth year, the Prize is an annual award of £10,000 celebrating outstanding achievements for a debut novelist or non-fiction writer first published aged 50 or over.

More from Awards and Prizes

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards

Companions of Literature

RSL International Writers

Become a Member

Our Members are champions of literature. Their support makes our engagement work in schools and prisons possible and they enable us to celebrate literature in all its wonderful diversity. As a thank you, we give them all the joys of a literary festival and book club rolled into one, all year round.