RSL Jerwood Awards 2016 – winners announced

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2016 RSL Jerwood Awards:

Violet MollerThe Geography of Knowledge (Pan Macmillan, 2018) explores how the big ideas of the ancient world found their way into Western culture from 8th century Baghdad to Renaissance Venice.

Afua HirschBRIT(ish): Getting Under the Skin of Britain’s Race Problem (Cape, 2018) looks at Britain’s failure to allow non-white people a history and makes the case for change.

Damian Le Bas – Stopping Places (Chatto, 2018), is a Traveller history showing how ‘alien’ culture is an ancient part of the UK and how an urge for freedom co-exists in an increasingly restrictive environment

More from Awards and Prizes

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards

Companions of Literature

RSL International Writers

Become a Member

Our Members are champions of literature. Their support makes our engagement work in schools and prisons possible and they enable us to celebrate literature in all its wonderful diversity. As a thank you, we give them all the joys of a literary festival and book club rolled into one, all year round.