The judges, Kate Adie, Moniza Alvi and Mark Lawson have selected the following shortlist for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2016:

Jane Clarke The River (Bloodaxe)
Brian Dillon The Great Explosion (Penguin Books)
Alexandra Harris Weatherland (Thames & Hudson)
Peter Pomerantsev Nothing is True and Everything is Possible (Faber)
James Rebanks The Shepherd’s Life (Allen Lane)
Samanth Subramanian This Divided Island (Atlantic)