Thank You

As a small charity with no regular government funding, we rely on grants, sponsorship, and above all, the generosity of our Fellows, Patrons, Members and other supporters, to continue our work. Thank you to all of our donors who have supported us in the last twelve months:

Recent Bequests

The late Hon Giles St Aubyn LVO FRSL
The late Mrs Henrietta Frances Phipps

Patron Fellows

Anonymous (4)
Dr Lisa Appignanesi OBE FRSL
Sir Antony Beevor FRSL
Colin Chisholm Hon FRSL
Artemis Cooper FRSL
Lord Egremont FRSL
Ken Follett CBE FRSL
Michael Frayn CRSL FRSL and Claire Tomalin FRSL
Neil Gaiman FRSL
Sir David Hare FRSL
Sir Michael Holroyd CBE CRSL FRHistS FRSL
Logos Charitable Trust
Hilary Mantel DBE FRSL
J. K. Rowling OBE FRSL
Lord Skidelsky of Tilton FRSL
Jacqueline Wilson DBE FRSL

Patron Honorary Fellows

Anonymous (1)
Colin Chisholm FRSL
Mary-Kay Wilmers Hon FRSL

Patron Members

David Astor CBE
Alice Jolly
Basil Postan
Henna Bhatti F.Inst.Pa, F.RSA

Individual Donors (£100 and above)

Anonymous (34)
Bruce Arnold FRSL
Lucy Astor
Dr H P Cecil FRSL
Ariane Bankes
Lady Bland and the late Sir Christopher Bland Hon FRSL
Ronald Blythe CBE FRSL
Howard Brenton FRSL
The Hon James Buchan FRSL
Lord Charles Cecil
John Clark
Professor Morton N. Cohen FRSL
Isabel Colegate FRSL
Joseph Connolly
Richard Davenport-Hines FRSL and and Jenny Davenport-Hines
Stephen Douglas-Hogg
Jane Dunn FRSL
Aminatta Forna OBE FRSL
In Memory of Mrs Edwina Aileen Garrett MBE
Dr Maggie Gee OBE FRSL
Penrose Halson
Susan Harvey
Lady Selina Hastings FRSL
Sir Max Hastings FRSL
W. R. Herley
Eva Hoffman FRSL
Emyr Humphreys FRSL
Professor Samuel Hynes FRSL
Francis & Susan Jacobs
Michael Jay
Linton Kwesi Johnson FRSL
Michael Johnston
Louisa Lane Fox
The late Jeremy Lewis FRSL
Penelope Lively DBE FRSL
David Lodge CBE FRSL
Jenny Mackilligan
Margaret MacMillan
Yann Martel FRSL
Geraldine Maxwell
Alexander McCall Smith CBE FRSL
Val McDermid FRSL
Deborah Moggach FRSL
Sir Andrew Motion FRSL
William Nicholson OBE FRSL
In Memory of the Hon Gerard Noel FRSL
Olaiya Ojo
Sir Christopher Ondaatje CBE Hon FRSL
Helen Partovi
S. K. Proffitt
Joseph Rudy
John Saumarez Smith Hon FRSL
Miranda Seymour FRSL
Ahdaf Soueif FRSL
Godfrey Smith FRSL
Rory Stewart MP OBE FRSL
Virginia Surtees FRSL
Guislaine Vincent
Charles Vyvyan
Charlotte Wallis
Adam Zamoyski FRSL


Grant-makers and Sponsors

We are grateful for grants and sponsorship from the following organisations:

Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS)
Blavatnik Family Foundation
Booker Prize Foundation
The European Commission Representation in the UK
The J P Jacobs Charitable Trust
Jerwood Charitable Foundation
Royal Literary Fund
T. S. Eliot Estate
University of Roehampton
University of Sussex



We benefit from collaborations with many partner organisations, including:

Africa Writes Festival
Bare Lit Festival
Birmingham Literature Festival
The Bloomsbury Hotel
British Academy
British Council
British Library
City Read London
The English Association
First Story
Forward Arts Foundation
Give a Book
Embassy of Ireland
Islington Libraries
King’s College London
Live Literature
LSE Space for Thought Literary Festival
National Poetry Day
National Portrait Gallery
Pages of Hackney
Refugee Tales
The Royal Society
Searcys St Pancras
Spread the Word
Times Literary Supplement
Young Muslim Writers’ Awards


RSL Jane Austen Auction Supporters

On June 26 2017, we held a reception and fundraising auction to mark the bicentenary of Jane Austen’s death. Thank you to all of our supporters who made this event possible.

10-11 Carlton House Terrace
Act IV
Lisa Appignanesi OBE FRSL
Margaret Atwood CC C Lit FRSL
Sir Quentin Blake CBE FRSL
British Academy
Tracy Chevalier FRSL
Andrew Davies FRSL
Kate Flitcroft
Four Colman Getty
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire
Claire Harman FRSL
Kazuo Ishiguro OBE FRSL
Jane Austen’s House Museum
Caroline Langrishe
Adrian Lukis
Hilary Mantel DBE FRSL
Alexander McCall Smith CBE FRSL
Val McDermid FRSL
Deborah Moggach FRSL
John Mullan
Grayson Perry CBE RA
Ian Rankin OBE DL FRSL
Posy Simmonds MBE FRSL
Colin Thubron CBE FRSL
Trident Printing
Sarah Waters FRSL
Derek Westwood
Jacqueline Wilson DBE FRSL
Lucy Worsley
RSL staff and volunteers