The longlist for the 2024 V.S. Pritchett Prize has been announced.

The V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short stories between 2,000 to 4,000 words in length. The winner will receive £1,000 and their entry will be published in Prospect magazine online and the RSL Review.

This year’s judges Julia Armfield, Fred D’Aguiar and Juliet Jacques have selected the following:

Michael Byrne – ‘Twéo-mann’

Stuart Evers – ‘Martinez’

Sarah Featherstone – ‘Dust’

Gill Fryzer – ‘Off Lizard Point’

Dave Lewis – ‘Pachyderm Hiraeth’

Kate Lockwood Jefford – ‘A Family Gathering’

Gráinne Murphy – ‘What Can You Say’

Alessandra Panizza – ‘A Gimmick’

Hannah Persaud – ‘Playing Badminton with Plums’

Han Smith – ‘Aftermorph’

Sharma Taylor – ‘The three deaths of Nina Carmichael’

Tom Vowler – ‘Voyagers’

Andrew Wilson – ‘Woelinam’

The RSL is grateful to the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) for supporting this Prize. The RSL is also grateful to Prospect for publishing the winning story online.

The shortlist will be announced Thursday 8 February 2024 and the winner on Thursday 22 February 2024.