V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize 2020 – winner announced

Kate Lockwood Jefford wins the £1,000 V. S. Pritchett Short Story Prize 2020 with ‘Picasso’s Face’.

The 2020 judges of the Prize, which is awarded for the year’s best unpublished short story, are Kate Clanchy, Barbara Jenkins and Derek Owusu.

The RSL is grateful to Prospect for publishing the winning entry online.

More from Awards and Prizes

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards

Companions of Literature

RSL International Writers

Become a Member

Our Members are champions of literature. Their support makes our engagement work in schools and prisons possible and they enable us to celebrate literature in all its wonderful diversity. As a thank you, we give them all the joys of a literary festival and book club rolled into one, all year round.