V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize 2021 – The Longlist

We are delighted to announce the longlist for the 2021 V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize:

  • Sophie Baker ‘Clay’
  • Owen Booth ‘Middle-Aged Sex Object’
  • Maureen Cullen ‘The Cailleach of Redgauntlet Close’
  • Rashad Hosein ‘Aji’
  • B Johnson ‘Idolatry’
  • Toby Lloyd ‘Bagatelles’
  • Amanda Mason ‘Three Times, Lefthandwise’
  • Maeve Mulrennan ‘Known To The Gardaí’
  • Emer O’Hanlon ‘Savior Complex’
  • Leeor Ohayon ‘Gahnun on Shabbat’
  • Penny Simpson ‘until your wild world ends’
  • Jacqueline Yallop ‘Dry Stone’

This year’s judges are Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Paul McVeigh and Emma Jane Unsworth.

Looking ahead, we will announce the shortlist on 24 November and the winner on 15 December.

We are grateful to ALCS for supporting this year’s Prize and to Prospect magazine online for publishing the winning entry.

More from Awards and Prizes

Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards

Companions of Literature

RSL International Writers

Become a Member

Our Members are champions of literature. Their support makes our engagement work in schools and prisons possible and they enable us to celebrate literature in all its wonderful diversity. As a thank you, we give them all the joys of a literary festival and book club rolled into one, all year round.