McAfee, Annalena

Annalena McAfee

Elected: 2018

Annalena McAfee is the author of eight books for children, including The Visitors who Came to Stay, with illustrations by Anthony Browne, which won the German Jugendliteratur Preis. In 2011 she published her first novel for adults, The Spoiler, set in the newspaper industry. Her second, Hame, explored Scottish history, language and cultural identity against the backdrop of the independence referendum. She was a founding member of the campaign to restore the derelict grave of William Hazlitt in Soho.

More of our Fellows

Yvvette Edwards

Roy Foster

Dea Birkett

Grey Gowrie (Earl of Gowrie)

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.