Crawford, Robert

Robert Crawford

Elected: 2021

Robert Crawford is author of eight collections of poetry in English, most recent of which is The Scottish Ambassador (Cape, 2018); and of several collections in Scots. His biographies include The Bard: Robert Burns (Cape, 2009), Young Eliot (Cape, 2015), and an experimental life of Violette Szabo (Molecular Press, 2021). His critical books include Devolving English Literature (OUP, 1992), The Modern Poet (OUP, 2000), and Scotland’s Books (Penguin, 2007). He has edited or co-edited several anthologies. He lives in Edinburgh.

More of our Fellows

Edwin Morgan

Edward Lucie-Smith

Patrick McGrath

Lucy Caldwell

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.