Morrissey, Sinéad

Sinéad Morrissey

Elected: 2019

Year of birth: 1972

Sinéad Morrissey was born in Northern Ireland in 1972 and grew up in Belfast. She is the author of six poetry collections: There was Fire in Vancouver (1996), Between Here and There (2002), The State of the Prisons (2005), Through the Square Window (2009), Parallax (2013) and On Balance (2017). Her awards include first prize in the UK National Poetry Competition, a Lannan Literary Fellowship and the E M Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Both Through the Square Window and Parallax received the Irish Times Poetry Prize. She was the winner of the TS Eliot Prize in 2013 and of The Forward Prize for Best Collection in 2017. In 2013, she was appointed Belfast’s inaugural Poet Laureate. She is currently Professor of Creative Writing and Director of the Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts at Newcastle University.

More of our Fellows

Sir C.A. Bayly

Yann Martel

Eva Tucker

Roy Fisher

Fellowship Election Process​

Fellows are nominated by peers and elected by our Council of writers – our governing Board. Being elected a Fellow of the RSL is a lifetime honour. This role gives them the opportunity to support other writers, readers and the future of literature. The RSL connects writers in the Fellowship to one another, and to a wider readership.